The Adventures of Polo the Bear. Collector’s Omnibus Print Edition

£9.99£191.68

When a hungry polar bear is pitched into the stormy seas from a tiny piece of melting ice, he embarks on an epic journey of discovery that will change his life forever.

In essence Captain Polo is the story about us and our future on Earth, presented in a knowledge-based and adventurous way, which can spark much-needed conversations and action to save Humanity.” – Prof. Johan Rockström, Director, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research.

A fantastically accessible way to help children understand climate change. A FINALIST and highly recommended.” – The Wishing Shelf Book Awards.


The Adventures of Polo the Bear: a Story of Climate Change Omnibus Edition is a single paperback corresponding to the first 3 books in the Captain Polo series.

Prices include P&P for delivery to UK (£9.99), Europe (£12.00), and Rest of World (£17.99). For Bulk Orders outside the UK, please contact me at alan.hesse@gmail.com

Bulk orders (box of 32 books): 50% off unit price


Clear

Description

This original print-only edition presents the first three books in the Adventures of Captain Polo series as a continuous story.

The Adventures of Captain Polo the Bear is a series of graphic novels for kids aged 8 to 12, although many adults also enjoy and learn from them.

A Story of Climate Change is a fast-paced graphic novel depicting accurate geographical settings and detailed, colourful illustrations designed to make learning about a complex and frightening subject positive and entertaining. Polo’s adventures unfold during an epic global odyssey across oceans, mountains, deserts, cities, villages, swamps, and rivers. Through it all, we explore the world and the realities of the climate crisis through the innocent eyes of Polo, a young polar bear a long way from home.

Embark on Polo’s global adventure now!

You can get started either with this omnibus edition as a single, 88-page book, or by purchasing the print or ebook editions of The Adventures of Captain Polo books 1, 2, and 3.

Reviews

Book Type

Paperback, Bulk Order (UK only)

Reviews

“Polo’s story provides a powerful social commentary. In the end, the reader is left with a sense of hope, of not giving up, and, that if we work together, the solutions to climate change are many and in everybody’s hands.” – Dr. Ashton J. Berry, Global Climate Change Programme Coordinator, BirdLife International.

“Captain Polo takes us with him on his adventure, opens our eyes and, despite the enormity of the problems, with warmth and wit shows us that 'we are all connected…all part of the same planet' and that, if we each take action wherever we live, there may yet be hope.” – Pippa Heylings, Chair, Climate Change and Environment Committee, South Cambs District Council.

“Children love comics and this is the best way to make them understand a complex topic in a fun and interesting way.” – Readers’ Favorite 5-star review

“I love comic book novels in the tradition of Tintin, and Alan Hesse’s Polo the Bear is as adventurous and fast-paced as those classic comic books. Hesse skillfully weaves the facts of climate change into a fun story that will captivate readers, young and old. There is a lot of bang for your buck, as the book is a full 90 pages jam-packed front and back with frames. The production on this book is top-notch, with thick glossy pages and vibrant color.” – D. Bellard, 5-star Amazon review

“I‘ve been working on climate change issues since about 2003. The topic is challenging, confusing, and often upsetting. Yet we need to raise kids today who understand the challenges they will live with for the rest of their lives — both as a set of chronic, developing problems and a shifting, critical set of solutions. Alan Hesse has written a book I have shared with my son and other children about climate change from a positive, useful, and productive (and fun!) approach. I hope you will buy the book to help arm the next generation with hope instead of despair.” – 5-star Amazon review

“Highly recommend this series. I would like to see this series as part of the education curriculum and on the must-read list for the respective grades. Looking forward to seeing more of Captain Polo.” – AG, Amazon review

“I love comics. I am very passionate about climate change. And here we have this wonderful combination. Now, this is no flimsy comic, it is eighty-seven fact-filled pages, at the end of which I had learned so much more about the devastating effects of climate change and how it affects everyone all around the world. What I particularly liked is the use of touches of humor that helped the story bury itself in your memory. It is informative for a very broad age range. I enjoyed reading it, so did my children, and best of all, it had all of us wanting to explore the issues of climate change even more. I am happily donating the book, at the suggestion of my children, to their local primary school, so their friends can become more aware. They haven’t suggested this of any book they have read so far.” M. Ross, 5-star Amazon review